The Group

Exhibition date:
12 May 2012 to 24 June 2012
New Zealand
The Suter Art Gallery Te Aratoi o Whakatū

Colin McCahon was a regular participant in the annual exhibitions of The Group, along with artists such as Leo Bensemann, Rita Angus, Toss Woollaston, Doris Lusk and Olivia Spencer Bower. The Group began in 1927, almost as an art club, independent of the Canterbury Society of Arts, holding an exhibition in Christchurch virtually every year until 1977, when it disbanded.

This exhibition shows examples of The Group artists’ works from the 1930s onwards.

Curated by Julie Catchpole.